Au revoir

8 Jul

In the early hours of tomorrow morning I leave the UK behind and I embark on the first stage of my adventure.  It has been hard saying goodbye to my friends and family but I am looking forward to walking around a town without permanently being on my guard.  It is one thing to exercise caution but quite another to be checking around every corner for a mad ex-husband

Tomorrow we take the Eurostar to Paris and from there swing south and follow the sun for the next few months.  I will return to the UK briefly at the end of August and I will be around again to regroup in October before heading off across the Atlantic to South America.

I have been dreaming about this for a long time and I can hardly believe that little old me has actually had the bottle to go ahead and resign from my job and that I will be living out of a rucksack indefinitely.

I will be joining the band of travellers, nomads and wanderers who roam the planet as free-range humans with few material possessions, but with a life brimming with experiences.

I am sure that there will be times when I get homesick or I am ill, times when I am cold and wet or hot and thirsty, times when I am lost in a strange city or marooned at a remote bus stop, but goodness, I could be behind my desk working on the same old problems day in day out.

I shall need to find work as I travel and I expect to stay in some very basic accommodation and dine on street food, but I hope to get fitter, meet amazing people and have some fantastic experiences. 

4 Responses to “Au revoir”

  1. Josie July 8, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

    Good luck Jane. Enjoy and be sensible but savour every moment xxx

  2. Gemma July 9, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    Au Revoir Scarlet Jones. Enjoy your travels. I look forward to hearing all about them. It is going to be a wonderful adventure. Savour every moment. I will miss you but I look forward to hearing all about your adventures. I hope that one day we will have another adventure together. You are an amazing person. Take care lots of love xxxxx

  3. Susan Screech July 9, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    Good luck and best wishes to you Jane. Will be thinking of you and looking forward to hearing all about your travels. xx

  4. thelouiseclarkson July 9, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Yes you will have wonderful experiences! I have found that when things seem to be really bad, that is when the great things happen. I wish you the very best of luck.

Leave a Reply

An outcast wayfarer

life is way too beautiful

Traveling Thru History

Learning about the past by traveling in the present.

Coins N Maps

Tales of our life and travels in Malaysia and South Asia

Healing Walls

Mental health blog and sharing network

